The Playlist: Noughties Britannia Part Two

As promised (to all my fans OMG love u), here’s part two. There’s just something about the noughties/The UK that gets my girdle going. I can’t explain it. It’s an aesthetic I cherish – the clothes, film, music, pop culture – AHH I can’t get enough. I’m like a weeaboo but for the UK (A BRITABOO)!!!!! To satisfy my odd cravings (and maybe yours) – here’s some more tunes worthy of a dance or five.

Gabrielle – Out of Reach (2001)

The lead single off Bridget Jones’s Diary. Gabrielle does no wrong here – her voice is so smooth and this production is so beautiful. This song in particular reminds me of Duffy’s 2008 Warwick Avenue. GORGEOUS!

Listen to this and think of Colin Firth. And if this doesn’t sustain your Firth needs then re-watch the lake scene from BBC’s 1996 Pride and Prejudice. Congratulations, you’re now a middle-aged woman.

Daniel Bedingfield – Gotta Get Thru This (2002)

I remember that one episode of Celeb Juice where they had a whole challenge dedicated to Daniel Bedingfield because someone had wrongly told Keith Lemon that the bloke had died. Nonetheless, ‘Gotta Get Thru This’ is like that one song you hate but probably recorded off the radio and put on your cassette or Walkman or whatever (I don’t know how 2002 works. I was only five – bear with me). It’s a cool ode to a generation of bedroom music-makers – Gotta Get Thru This was homemade on Bedingfield’s PC.

Toploader – Dancing In The Moonlight (again, technically 1999 but worth an honourable mention)

I once heard a bootleg of this the other day and almost vomited. You can’t make Toploader into a banger. You just cant. It’s fucking cruel. When you think of Toploader you don’t think of taking pingers at Cloud Nine. Ugh.

Now, the original is where it’s at. Dancing In The Moonlight is the perfect early noughties combo of piano organ and sex appeal. Think, a glass of wine while wearing something a la Atomic Kitten in ‘Whole Again’ (see Part One… and yes I do make inside jokes with myself on my blog). This music video is the reason I love both Toploader and the 00’s.

Jamie T – Sheila (2007)

Jamie T is a modern music mastermind. It’s punk and rap and a pint against the backdrop of British slumville. Lyrically, it’s poetically unpoetic – Jamie spitting the words in a cockney accent. Beautiful stuff. It makes me want to wear a two piece adidas tracksuit and some trainers and go kick a soccer ball round the back streets.

 Sugababes – Overload (2000)

I think my favourite thing about this entire early Sugababes sitch is the fact that they’re literally fifteen here. While a newer lineup provided goods such as ‘Push The Button’ and ‘About You Now’ – ‘Overload’ is forever my staple just simply because I always get a laugh out of how terrified they all look. That’s showbiz, darl.

Starsailor – Four To The Floor (Thin White Duke Remix) (2004)

This Starsailor remix was HUGE back in ’04. Yes, this is the remix. And no, you do not want to hear the original. I know it’s like saying the film versions of Harry Potter were better than the books (AKA FUCKING WRONG) – but trust me, as an exception to the remake-rule, the original is a slow pop-rock version of the ABSOLUTE BANGER that is the remix. I’m not even going to link the original, that’s how much you shouldn’t listen to it.

Coldplay – Shiver (2000)

A definite favourite of mine from their debut album, Parachutes. ‘Shiver’ is Coldplay at their best – before the hype of ‘The Scientist’ and ‘Clocks’, and a whisker away from the moody yet beautiful nature of ‘Yellow’. ‘Shiver’ is a fun, although somewhat sad indie-pop anthem for the one-sided lover. I love the film clip especially. There’s just something about the simplicity of early noughties dress and “vibe” (if that makes sense) that makes me go wild. Think: What To Give and Take by Sarah Ryan (photography at NGV – BEAUTIFUL).

 Franz Ferdinand – Take Me Out (2004)

Oh man! Oh mama! Give me Jesus, Mary and Joseph! What a fantastic song. I just ADORE how the song starts out slowish then that “dunnadunnadunnadunna” guitar comes in and you know to put the windows down and adjust your bra straps as you get ready to lose your mind… or is that just me? Eh, whatever. I love you, Franz Ferdinand – my Scottish rockstars.

P.S. I KNOW MY MUSIC TERMINOLOGY IS BAD. GIMME A BREAK.

Kaiser Chiefs – Ruby (2007)

I’ve been forever taunted by this song thanks to my name. Yet, it’s only been recently that I’ve grown to appreciate the magic of Kaiser Chiefs. Pop-rocky guitars and repeated “ruby-ruby-ruby-ruby ahhhhhh ahhhhh ahhhhhh ahhhhhh” have become my own mini anthem. Me aside, this tune is a cracker and a bloody half that’s bound to get stuck in your head forever and ever.

Lily Allen – LDN (2006)

Smile was Allen’s first big hit, but I will contest popular vote and contend that LDN is Lily Allen’s best work. I’m calling it. I just LOVE Lily Allen and her don’t-give-a-shit attitude. LDN has such funny, relatable lyrics – and, similar to the poetic dismay of Jamie T – Allen’s South London accent shines through, polishing her work with a cockney charm so endearing and hilarious. ALSO – trainers and a dress. Fantastic.

 Dizzee Rascal and Calvin Harris – Dance Wiv Me (2009)

2009 was honestly so precious. I want to hug 2009 and watch on like a proud mother. Dizzee Rascal and baby Calvin Harris making genuine tunes (not post-Swift 2016 garbage) about getting it on in the club. Also, you know this is a good song because of the title’s spelling. How can you refuse? C’mon girl, get dancin’.

Basement Jaxx – Where’s Your Head At? (2001)

Basement Jaxx were arguably the biggest dance producers of the millennium (excluding Daft Punk, of course). ‘Where’s Your Head At?’ is UK-garage-hitting-mainstream-charts at it’s finest. A heavy bassline and a catchy hook. You literally can’t go wrong with such a simple formula. Funny music video, too. Check it out, son!

 Gorillaz – Feel Good Inc. (2005)

It blew my mind to know that Damon Albarn (lead singer of Blur) was responsible for Gorillaz. Mostly, because I am a Britpop whore – also, because I love Gorillaz. While tunes such as ‘Clint Eastwood’ and ‘DARE’ have been hugely successful, you can’t go past the brilliance of 2005’s ‘Feel Good Inc’. with it’s dreamy acoustic guitar and spitting, dark, funky verses. I also love how innovative Gorillaz are – being a visual band really gives way to a creative poise void of Blur ties. Marvellous!

Obviously, there’s loads more tunes that could fit easily into the broad spectrum of ‘Noughties Britannia’. These are just a few of my sparkling favourites. If you’ve got any other suggestions let me know!

Leave a Reply

